Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 22700

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 1/4/2010

RE: Recreational Adult

Edgar Hulatt of Calgary, Alberta Canada asks...

This question is a follow up to question 22689

Following through on Richard Dawson's very detailed answer could there be a 2(D) added to this answer. The GK controls and parrys the ball to the side and it gets away from him. A very quick attacker runs in and to prevent a shot on goal the keeper dives and handles the ball to prevent the attacker shooting into the net. Could this be a send off for a DOGSO. A tough call perhaps but nevertheless technically correct?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

In my opinion No!
The key point here is the difference between the OPPONENT and the BALL and how they relate to the two individual DOGSO send off offences!

A keeper can strike an opponent in the nose or hold an opponent or trip or push an opponent and be guilty of DOGSO via the way in which the hands were used to foul the opponent.
Point 5 of the send off criteria applies! SFP or VC or offinabus or a second cautionable offence are all theoretically possible just improbable in our parry situation!

A player, substitute or substituted player is sent off if he commits the following offence:
? denying an obvious goal-scoring opportunity to an opponent moving towards the player's goal by an offence punishable by a free kick or a penalty kick

The fact that the illegal use of HANDS on the BALL create the stoppage does not lift the wavier the keeper enjoys within his own penalty area listed in point 4 of the send offs! Point 5 does not change point 4 of the send offs

A keeper is incapable of being guilty for DOGSO via the use of his hands on the ball inside his own area!

Mind you, *IF* the ball had of spilled out of the PA and then the hands were used this is a DFK foul, then the possibility of DOGSO -H point 4 exists. A DFK foul is of greater significance than a 2nd touch INDFK violation for the illegal use of the hands! We sanction the more serious DFK violation as the greatest advantage.

DOGSO criteria for a handling by the keeper inside his own penalty area is not possible to apply under the laws of the game! Point 4 of the send offs says it implicitly. Note the ** ()**


Sending-off Offences
A player, substitute or substituted player is sent off if he commits the following offence:
? denying the opposing team a goal or an obvious goal-scoring opportunity by deliberately handling the ball
**(this does not apply to a goalkeeper within his own penalty area)**

Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Goalkeeper handling inside the penalty area can NEVER result in a send-off for DOGSO. It says so specifically in Law 12: 'denying the opposing team a goal or an obvious goal-scoring opportunity by deliberately handling the ball (this does not apply to a goalkeeper within his own penalty area)'



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Referee Hulatt
A goalkeeper can never be guilty of misconduct by deliberately handling the ball within his own penalty area. In fact in your example it is not even a caution just an IDFK
However outside the penalty area all that changes and he just becomes like any other player



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

You say the ball 'gets away from' the keeper. How far did the ball go? Did it go outside the penalty area? I'll assume that since you lead us to believe the opponent had a clear goal scoring opportunity that the ball is still inside the penalty area. In that case, there can be no DOGSO-H as the Law 12 tells us under Sending Of Offenses:

? denying the opposing team a goal or an obvious goal-scoring opportunity
by deliberately handling the ball (this does not apply to a goalkeeper within
his own penalty area)



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 22700
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.