Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 22707

Law 16 - Goal Kick 1/6/2010

RE: Under 14

John of falkirk, Scotland asks...

This question is a follow up to question 22219

Can you clarify some of the answers regarding kicking the ball into your own net from a goal kick, as the in-play/out-of-play seemed irrelevant to me.

E.g., I thought if

a) a Goal Kick and the ball went into the net without leaving the penalty area -> retake goal kick;

b) a Goal Kick and the ball went into the net having left the penalty area (i.e. due to wind) -> corner kick.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi John
The ball has to leave the penalty area to be in play on all restarts including a goal kick. In the case where the ball is kicked into the goal directly from a goal kick without leaving the penalty area it is a retake.
Law 16 states that a goal can only be scored against the opposing team directly from a goal kick. So in the case where the ball from a goal kick has left the penalty area and is blown back into the goal the restart is a corner kick. The reason for this is that the ball is in play when it leaves the PA but a team can only score against its opponents. So when it crosses the goal line it is out of play and the last player to touch the ball was a defender so it is a corner kick restart.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

You are correct in both your statements (a) and (b). The reason why (a) is correct is because the ball was never in play. Thus it has to be what we call a 'retake'. But actually it is the 'taking' of the goal kick because the original kick didn't count as a restart if the ball didn't go into play.

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

The ball in play/ ball not in play is the distinction that makes your answers correct.

In both situations, the ball left the field of play, but in only the latter was the ball in play. A ball in play crossed the goal line, last touched by an attacking player. without a goal being scored (because it went directly into the kicking team's goal on a goal kick).

Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi John,
Both your statements are correct, and the ball in/out of play factor is the critical issue. In the first case, the ball never went in play, then he suddenly found itself off the field. As it never enters play, it's a retake. It would also be a retake if the ball crossed the goal line beside the goal, directly from the penalty area having not entered the field of play.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

a. is correct
b. may be correct. If the goal kick left the penalty area and didn't touch any other player and then is driven into the net by the wind (or by the referee for that matter) the restart is a corner kick. If it touches another player it's a goal.

Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

It seems to me that you have a very good understanding of the law in regards to this situation.

Just remember from a practical stand point, if you think the wind is blowing hard enough to do this, be ready for it to happen... but you might even consider stopping the game until the wind dies down, or abandoning the match and going home until the winds are a little more reasonable.

Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 22707
Read other Q & A regarding Law 16 - Goal Kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.