Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 22716

Law 14 - Penalty kick 1/11/2010

RE: Select Adult

Mark Palmer of San Francisco, CA USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 22711

Thank you for all of the great responses.

As a follow up, it was not at the end of the game that the PK occurred. The keeper made the save by blocking the ball.

Unfortunately no explanation of the call was given. Was it offsides? Or did he think the ball came off of the post?

As the tournament continued the next day, the hypothesis evolved to the second possibility. Perhaps it was a failing of sight, not a lack of knowledge. We are all prone to that.

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

We are happy to help!
A referee with integrity sees what he sees!
Even if others see it different!

One can forgive a missed call slightly easier than a misapplication of law even if they both hurt the same!

If the keeper got a touch of the ball pushing it wide off the post then the PK kicker has every right to play the ball on that rebound!

If the referee missed seeing the keeper actually tip the ball away then even if it did happen as a FACT of play it did not and the indfk is the correct restart for what in the opinion of the referee thought it should be!
A second touch before any other player after a restart!

Cheers




Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Mark
Most referees are happy to explain their decisions if asked in a friendly, cordial manner. I have explained many decisions after games and their basis in law. In this case the referee might have been happy to explain why he gave an IDFK to disallow a goal and particularly if its a tournament.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

It sounds like the referee saw encroachment into the penalty area by the kicking team. This would result in an IDFK for the defense since the ball did not enter the goal.

I agree with my colleagues that most referees, if approached respectfully, and at an appropriate moment, will answer questions briefly. It isn't up for discussion, remember, just that you wished clarification.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 22716
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.