Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 22785

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 1/31/2010

RE: Select Under 19

Brad Harman of Columbia, SC USA asks...

A1 plays the ball back toward Keeper A. He attempts to play the ball with his hands but only deflects the ball into the side netting. What is the proper restart? Should it be a kickoff with a goal for Team B or an Indirect Free Kick because the keeper attempted to play the ball with his hands? He did touch the ball in both cases with his hands.
thanks for you help with this question.

Answer provided by Referee Tom Stagliano

Referee Harman

When you state that the goalie deflected the ball with his hands into the side netting, I am interpreting that to mean that the ball entered the goal after completely crossing the goal line.

Since the restriction on the goal keeper handling a ball intentionally kicked to him by a team mate is part of Law 12 (Fouls), then the referee should apply Advantage, ignore the foul for the handling, and allow the goal. The restart would be a kick-off for the goal keeper's team. The goal would be credited as an Own Goal.



Read other questions answered by Referee Tom Stagliano

View Referee Tom Stagliano profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Referee Harman
From my interpretation of what you have written the correct decision is to play advantage (on the offence of the goalkeeper touching the ball with his hands that was deliberately kicked to him by a team mate) and allow the goal .



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

First we have to determine what you meant when you said 'plays the ball'. If A1 used his head, his chest or played the ball in any legal manner with any part of his body but the foot, then what happens next depends on what was meant by 'into the side netting'.

If 'into the side netting' meant the ball did not enter the goal but went into the side netting off the field, then we have a corner kick. If you meant the ball entered the goal and then hit the side netting, then we have a kick0ff.

If by 'plays the ball' you meant A1 deliberately kicked the ball to the keeper (or to a place where the keeper could pick it up), then we are looking at a possible offense by the goalkeeper if he uses his hands on the ball.

If he uses his hands on the ball deliberately kicked to him by a teammate, and the ball does NOT enter the goal, but goes into the side netting off the field, then we have an IDFK for the opponents for the keeper's violation wherever it was he touched the ball.

If the keeper uses his hands on the ball deliberately kicked to him by a teammate, and it enters the goal, we award the goal and restart with a kickoff for the keeper's team.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Hi Brad. Your question is a good example of why we are so picky about proper terminology on this site. Nowhere in the Laws Of The Game is found a statement prohibiting a keeper handling a ball 'played' to him by a teammate. How was the ball played? The only prohibition is that a keeper may not handle a ball that has been deliberately kicked to him by a teammate. You also state the ball landed into the side netting. I assume you mean the ball crossed over the goal line, between the goal posts and under the crossbar in accordance with Law 10. If not, then the ball went out of play and the opponents are awarded an IDFK where the keeper handled the ball or at the six yard line if the keeper was inside his goal area which, from your description, seems likely. I also assume you mean that the teammate deliberately kicked the ball to the keeper. Once the keeper has touched the ball with his hands he has committed a breech of Law 12 which prohibits the keeper from handling the ball if deliberately kicked to him by a teammate. You say this is a U19 Select game so you better know you should hold your whistle for a second or 2 and see what happens once the keeper handles the ball. While you are never to give the advantage sign or say 'play on' for breeches of Law 12 inside the penalty area, you should always hold your whistle a few seconds to see what transpires. Had you blown your whistle when the keeper touched the ball with his hands you would have to pull the ball out of the goal and award an indirect free kick to the opponents and you would have looked really stupid doing so. The proper thing is to wait a second, see that the ball scored, then award the goal and restart with a kick off.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 22785
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.