Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 22801

Law 10 - Method of Scoring 2/6/2010

RE: Under 9

martin lawes of sheringham, norfolk england asks...

if a goal is scored from a corner and the keeper flaps at it and touches it in the net is this an own goal or does it count to the player

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Martin
Thi is not a refereeing question but one for the relevant competition authority who set the goal scoring criteria.
In many competitions if the ball is headed directly into the goal and it is deflected on its path towards the goal then the goal is awarded to the ball kicker. If it is going away from goal and it is deflected into the goal that is an own goal.
If in this case if it was an inswinging corner and the goalkeeper pushes the ball into the goal, while trying to prevent it going in, it is a goal to the corner taker. If it was going away from goal and the goalkeeper tried to push the ball say over the bar but pushed it into the goal that would be an own goal.
In the Premier League there is a Goals Panel established who decide on these goals based on set criteria. They review video footage of the goals in question. Own goals are generally only awarded when it showed that a goal would unlikely to have been scored without the contact of the ball by the goalkeeper or the defender.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Tom Stagliano

Coach Lawes

There was a Premiership game last weekend in which that very thing occurred.

Essentially, if the ball, on its own flight, could have entered the goal, but brushed the goalkeeper's outstretched hands, then credit the goal to the player who took the corner kick.

However, if the ball would have Not gone into the goal except for the deflection provided by the goal keeper, then credit the goal as an Own Goal.

I tend to favor the attackers and if it looks close, credit the goal to the attacker.

Read other questions answered by Referee Tom Stagliano

View Referee Tom Stagliano profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

The referee counts goals scored, credited to the team. (Except in those league competitions where the reporting requirements are to report by player. And then to make the final score come out correctly, own goals must be credited to the attacking player who last touched the ball, or it won't be in the right part of the report.)

The statistician counts goals scored, credited to players.

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 22801
Read other Q & A regarding Law 10 - Method of Scoring

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.