Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 22832

Law 14 - Penalty kick 2/17/2010

RE: Rec Under 7

rob of welling, kent uk asks...

An awarded penalty is ordered to be retaken by the referee for player encroachment, keeper movement etc. Does the player who took the first awarded penalty have to take the retaken penalty. Does the ruling differ or depend on wether the original penalty was scored or missed.
Many thanks.

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

Law 14 states that before the kick can be taken, the referee must identify who is taking the kick. After that is completed, along with a number of other procedural checks, the referee blows the whistle to allow the kick to be taken.

You asked what amounts to three questions.

1. Must the player who took the first PK attempt also take the re-take that was ordered after the a violation of Law 14. The answer is No. Each penalty kick is a 'new kick' by the letter of the law. The referee must repeat the pre-kick procedures, one of which is identifying the kicker, and the team may select which ever player they like to take a penalty kick. Plus, why should the defenders gain any sort of benefit after commiting a PK foul and then violating Law 14?

2. Does the ruling differ if the goal is scored or missed?
Yes, of course.
A. If the defending team violated law 14 and the kick is missed, the referee must stop play and order the kick retaken.

B. If the defending team violated law 14 and a goal is scored, the referee shall allow the goal to count and ignore the offense, or if severe enough he could caution the defender for misconduct of some kind.

Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

When a penalty kick is retaken, anyone may take it. The team is not be required to use the same kicker.

Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

In some cases it may not be possible for the same player to take a rekick. For instance, if the kicker commits some unsporting behavior while taking a penalty kick, and it's his second caution, he won't be taking the rekick.

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

no. if the penalty kick is ordered to be retaken for any reason, any member of the kicking team that legally may take it, can take it

Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 22832
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.