Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 22867

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 2/25/2010

RE: rec Under 11

chris dunk of newport beach, ca usa asks...

A goalie goes outside the 18 penalty box to field a ball. He dribbles the ball back into the 18 area penalty box and then picks it up.
What is the penalty?

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

There is no penalty, because there isn't a foul.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Chris
It can only be an infraction if the ball is deliberately kicked to the goalkeeper by a team mate in this situation. In that case the goalkeeper is not allowed to touch the ball with his hands. If he does so after he dribbles the ball back into the penalty area it is an IDFK from where he touches the ball with his hands.
If the ball is played by an attacker in this situation there is no infraction and play just continues.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

It depends! If the ball the goalkeeper fields is one last played by his opponent, there is no issue with the Law - he can pick it up quite legally and he then has 6 seconds to distribute the ball back into play.

If a teammate heads, chests, knees, or uses anything legal besides a kick to get the ball to the keeper, the keeper can legally play the ball.

The only time the keeper is in any danger of a whistle blowing in these situations is if she 'touches the ball with her hands after it has been deliberately kicked to her by a team-mate'. (Law 12 - Indirect Free Kick offenses committed by a goalkeeper) To the keeper means anywhere the keeper can go to pick it up - including going outside the penalty area and dribbling it back into the PA. Kicked means only that it was deliberately kicked with the foot, not mis-kicked or mis-directed.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 22867
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.