Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 24067

Other 10/2/2010

RE: Rec Under 11

DougB of Irvine, Ca USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 24041

In regards to the Goalkeeper scoring on a drop kick...

Just another thought on why your friend/referee might have suggested the ball must hit the ground.

I'm guessing you were thinking about a punt, where the goalkeeper has possession of the ball. However, when you first said drop kick, my brain was thinking drop ball.

If a goalkeeper (or anyone else) scores on a drop ball, the ball must touch the ground before it goes into the goal. In fact, it must touch the ground before the goalkeeper or another player can touch it.

This might not have been any part of the miscommunication, but it is a twist on what might have been being discussed.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Doug
The ball is in play when it touches the ground on the dropped ball. So there is no requirement for it to touch the ground again for a goal to be scored as it is in play the moment it touches the ground. If it is played before it is touches the ground it is taken again.
So let's say in the unlikely event of a score from this situation, the referee drops the ball and the moment it touches the ground it is in play so if the GK could kick the dropped ball the length of the field without touching the ground it is a goal. An unlikely feat I might add. Ever seen a GK kick the ball on a punt that far without it touching the ground?
It is more likely with a forward kicking the ball after the first bounce directly into the goal from close range and that would count also.
No I believe the thinking here has been confused with a local underage rule that prevents goalkeeper kicking the ball the lenght of the mini pitch. The basis of that local rule is that the Leagues want the game to be about passing, dribbling not a punt fest by the Gks



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

That's true Doug and thanks for the input. If the question was really asking about a dropped BALL, then yes the ball must hit the ground first. If the question really had to do with a drop kick, it doesn't matter whether the ball touches the ground or not. If it never touches the ground it's not a drop kick by definition but there's no penalty for the punt



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 24067
Read other Q & A regarding Other

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.