Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 24136

Pre-Game 10/11/2010

RE: AYSO Regional Badge Under 13

Kevin Dyer of Newbury Park, CA USA asks...

If an CR while officiating a match, becomes ill or injured (twist his/her ankle) would it be correct for the next highest level AR to take over the match and assign a club linesman to take his place and then continue. Of course, after making sure your CR is taken care of off the field?

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

It is usually the job of the AR1 to take over if the referee becomes incapacitated in any way.

Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Yes, that is the procedure.

In games that are a high enough level to have a 4th official, that person becomes the new member of the ref crew. It will be up to league procedures as to whether the 4th official becomes the center referee, or if AR1 goes to center and the 4th goes to AR.

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Kevin
That is indeed correct. The most senior assistant takes over as center referee. If the 'referee' can continue as an 'assistant' with ball in and out duties only then that should be allowed with the other assistant also carrying out those limited duties only. If he can't continue as an assistant a club 'AR' will be assigned the task.
It is preferable to get a replacement official AR but that is not always possible.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 24136
Read other Q & A regarding Pre-Game

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.