Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 24142

Law 14 - Penalty kick 10/12/2010

RE: Rec Under 13

Bill Tanner of Anaheim, CA United States asks...

When can a coach change goalkeepers (other than at substitution periods)? For example, a penalty kick is awarded and the coach changed keepers. After the kick was taken the coach changed the keeper again. Was that proper?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Bill
Yes the goalkeeper can be changed at any stoppage as long as the referee is informed of the change.
So there was nothing wrong with the change at a penalty kick.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

The Laws of the Game permit a change at any stoppage, as long as the referee is informed. A goalkeeper change (with one of the other players already on the field) is not a substitution. So any restrictions on substitutions in youth rules do not apply to changing the keeper. I have never seen youth rules that limited when players can change positions on the field.

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 24142
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 24324

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.