Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 24261

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 11/1/2010

RE: Intermediate Under 13

David of Laguna beach, Ca Usa asks...

Corner kick is taken. Because there is spin on the ball, it goes over the goal Line and then comes back in, hitting the cross bar of the goal coming back in. Attacking team scores a goal. AR signals it went out and CR gives the defenders a goal kick for restart. Was this the right call at BU12 level?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi David
Yes this was the correct call as the ball has left the field of play and then returned. The restart is a goal kick.
Also the age group makes no difference to the call as it is a matter of fact that the ball is either out of play or it isn't. It is not a decision that can be set aside by an official as trifling indeed advantage cannot be played where the ball has left the field of play. It must be stopped.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

From the phrasing, it appears you meant the ball had left the field, so assuming all of the ball was all of the way over the goal line before it spun back onto the field, play stopped at the moment the ball left the field. Since it left the field from a corner kick, the only possible restart is a GK.

If the ball was simply over the goal line, but did not leave the field, then a goal would have counted, and the restart would be a kick off.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

The call was correct if the ball was completely outside the field. Law 9 says,
'The ball is out of play when:
? it has wholly crossed the goal line or touch line whether on the ground or in the air'
It doesn't have to touch down on the ground to be out.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 24261
Read other Q & A regarding Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.