Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 24314

Law 7 - Match Duration 11/13/2010

RE: AYSO Under 11

Bob Hayes of Redondo Beach, CA USA asks...

Right before the end of the game, an attacking team had a throw in which a defender hit with his hand in the penalty area.

It was fairly obvious, but right after that happened (about 1 or 2 seconds), the ref called an end to the game.

He claimed that the clock had already expired before the handball, as he was just a bit late blowing his whistle, so the handball was not called.

What is the official end of the game, the clock or the ref's whistle?

Answer provided by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

Neither. The end of the game is determined by when the referee decides it's the end of the game. That determination may or may not coincide with the referee blowing the whistle. The decision and the announcement of that decision are two different and distinct things.

Read other questions answered by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

View Referee Debbie Hoelscher profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Bob
Play is ended when the referee decides that time has fully expired. The signal is to announce that decision.
While the referee is entirely correct in his decision, the mechanics of his decision caused the difficulty.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Gene Nagy

Bob, let's not get bogged down in splitting hairs in a U11 game. The ref told you when the end was: just before the hand ball. Just accept it - his decision stands. In a perfect world the whistle, the clock and referee decision all happen at the same time. This time he was a second or two late.

Read other questions answered by Referee Gene Nagy

View Referee Gene Nagy profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 24314
Read other Q & A regarding Law 7 - Match Duration

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.