Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 24344

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 11/19/2010

RE: Travel Under 11

Bob Stankieiwcz of Burlington, NJ Burlington asks...

2 Questions:
1) If a tripping occurs directly on the
18 yard line (not on the outside or on
the inside), would the foul be considered in the penalty box and be awarded a penalty shot?

2) Goalie has the ball and is ready to punt the ball and steps directly on the 18 yard line (not outside), is this a hand ball on the goalie?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Bob
1. The line is part of the penalty area so if the foul occurs directly on the line a penalty kick is awarded.
2. Works the other way here. As the line is part of the penalty area the goalkeeper has not deliberately handled the ball outside the penalty area so there is no offence. As I have said many times the referee needs to be 100%+ certain that the ball has been deliberately handled outside the area before awarding this free kick. Many times it is not or it is trifling. I recall this offence being called in a PL game and it was shown that the GK had in fact released the ball inside the penalty area and he kicked it outside the PA in the air which is not an offence. AR made the call and it was shown with freeze frame that he was incorrect. Thankfully a goal was not scored from the resultant free kick.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

1. PK. The line is 'within' the penalty area.

2. Where is the ball? The keeper may handle a ball so long as any part of the ball is on or over the line. The location of the keeper's feet is irrelevant. On most punts, the difference is so slight that any infringement should be ignored as doubtful (where exactly was the ball when it left the keeper's hands) or trifling (is there any real disadvantage to the other team from the punt ).



Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

If it is a defender doing the tripping, and it occurs on the penalty area line, then it is a PK.

Unless the keeper has kept the ball in his hands and has obviously (to everyone, including the AR and the referee) left the penalty area with the ball in said hands, it is most likely a trifling offense, and in most cases, even doubtful. Doubtful because often the keeper has released the ball before he steps on the penalty area line, in which case, there can be no offense at all!



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 24344
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 26775

See Question: 30284

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.