Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 24650

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 3/4/2011

RE: Junior Adult

David Cassells of Cowes, Victoria Australia asks...

This question is a follow up to question 24621

Should a free kick be given if the foul happened after a goal was scored? So a second shot at goal?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi David
Why would the referee disallow a goal when the offence happened after the goal was scored? When a goal is scored the ball is then out of play so it cannot be a foul just misconduct. Indeed if the defending team commits a foul before a goal is scored the referee can and should play advantage by allowing the goal. He can still take disciplinary action before the kick off restart if the foul so merited it.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Fouls cannot happen after a goal is scored. Fouls can only happen while the ball is in play. As a referee, you must know this.

Something that happens when the ball is not in play can only be sanctioned as misconduct. It does not change the restart.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

A second shot at goal? Seriously?

If the ball left the field (in this case going into the goal) the ball is out of play (see Law 9). Anything that happens between the ball leaving the field and the ball being put into play again is misconduct only.

What should have happened is the goal is counted; the misconduct is addressed; the ball is put back into play from a kickoff.

Now if the foul happened before the ball entered the goal the situation changes a bit but that's not what you presented.




Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

David, a goal has been scored. The ball is now out of play. Any infringement of the Laws now must be dealt with as misconduct not as fouls because fouls, by definition, must occur on the field, against an opponent, while the ball is in play. Why would you even consider calling off a valid goal for an infraction AFTER the goal has been scored?



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 24650
Read other Q & A regarding Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 24671

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.