Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 24681

Law 11 - Offside 3/12/2011

RE: rec and academy Under 11

mike of granbury, tx usa asks...

When the goaly from team a picks up the ball and drop kicks it out to the field, does off sides count for team a on team b side of the field. We had a their goaly kick the ball past mid field, they had three players off sides. They got the ball and scored. The ball went over all of our players heads and their players were at least 10 yards off sides. The ref did not call off sides and counted the score. Does off sides count when the goaly picks up and kicks the ball?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Mike
Offside counts when the ball is in play and the ball is in play on a punt by the goalkeeper. It is the same as any other open play.
A player cannot be offside from the three restarts where the ball has left the field of play namely a goal kick, a throw in and a corner kick.
I would make the point that the position of players is determined for offside at the moment the ball is played/touched by a team mate in this case the punt. As the ball has to travel a distance from a punt players can have changed position considerably by the time it has reached the player who touches the ball. In addition you state that the team had three players in offside position. It is not an offence to be in an offside position and the one player who plays the ball, unless a team mate in an offside position interferes with an opponent, is the player that when he touches the ball is the player that is considered for offside. It is easily possible that a team could have numerous players 10 yards beyond the 2nd last defender in an offside position and the one player that touches the ball was in an onside position when the ball was played and that is not offside.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Coach Mike, make sure your League doesn't have a modification of Law 11 (which is not allowed by FIFA or USSF but Leagues tend to do whatever they want). Per the Laws Of The Game, offside does not apply regardless of position if the ball is received directly from a goal kick, corner kick, or throw in. In your case, this is a ball in play and offside should apply but I have heard of Leagues considering a keeper punt to be considered as a goal kick for offside purposes at lower age groups.

Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Offside will apply if the keeper is punting the ball. The question is where where his teammates at the moment the ball left his foot?

If they were still in their own half but running to get the ball, they are onside - even if by the time they reach the ball they have crossed over into the opponent's half.

If they were in the opponent's half when the ball was kicked, offside will apply and if one of them touches the ball the flag should go up.

Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 24681
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 27963

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.