Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 24715

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 3/21/2011

RE: AYSO Under 13

Rajan of Van Nuys, California usa asks...

Team A attacker enters the penalty area with the ball and is taken down by Team B defender for a clear penalty kick for Team A. However before the ref has a chance to whistle and signal for a penalty kick Team A attacker, as he is down or going down, manages to put the ball into the net. Goal for Team A and kickoff for Team B. Correct?

Same situation as Team A attacker enters the penalty area and is taken down by Team B defender. However this time 'before' Team A attacker manages to put the ball into the net the ref whistles and points to the penalty mark.
Does the goal count or does Team A take a penalty kick?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Rajan
As the referee has not stopped play he can play advantage and award the goal.
As the referee has stopped play he cannot now play advantage so he must disallow the goal and award a penalty kick to Team A.
In both cases the referee can also take disciplinary action against the Team B Defender if the challenge so merited it. However Team B defender cannot be dismissed for denying an obvious goal scoring opportunity in the first scenario as a goal has not been denied. The defender can be dismissed in the 2nd scenario for a DOGSO if the 4 D conditions are met.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

Ball enters goal before whistle: good goal. (Also good example of referee applying advantage inside the penalty area by waiting to see what happens next.)

There cannot be a goal unless all of the ball has crossed all of the goal line when the referee whistles for the foul. When the whistle blows too quickly, the restart must be the penalty kick.

As Ref McHugh notes, waiting to see sometimes can avoid a sendoff and red card for denying an obvious goal scoring opportunity (if a goal results). Most attacking teams would rather have a goal than a penalty kick. Most defending teams would rather lose a goal than give a penalty kick, see their player sent off and play short.

Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

You answer your own question.

A. Play has not been stopped. Goal

B. Play has been stopped. Penalty kick

Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 24715
Read other Q & A regarding Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.