Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 24887

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 5/6/2011

RE: Rec Under 16

Brant Kelly of High Point, NC USA asks...

Goalie runs out to cover a ball near the box line. He slides to cover the ball and in the process his body leaves the penalty box but the ball never leaves the box. Goalie makes sure the ball never leaves the box while he is standing up.
Foul or not - if so what is the foul and what is the penalty.

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

If the ball remains inside the penalty area, even if just touching the boundary line, the keeper may touch it with his hands and control it. There has been no infraction with what you describe. Doesn't matter were the keeper's feet or body are, just the ball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

No foul. The goalkeeper is entitled to handle the ball while it is inside the penalty area, which happened here. It doesn't matter where the rest of his body is, only where the ball is. And if any tiny sliver of the ball is eclipsing the line, it is considered to be inside the penalty area.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Brant
This cannot be deliberate handling as the goalkeeper is legally allowed to handle the ball inside his penalty area. As the ball has not left the penalty area there is no offence. Also the penalty area line is part of the penalty area so all of the ball must be fully over the line to be outside the area.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

So long as any part of the ball is over any part of the penalty area line, the keeper may handle the ball. The location of the rest of the keeper's body is irrelevant.

In referee classes, we sometimes use a slide showing a keeper on the ground entirely outside the penalty area, reaching back with one arm, and putting one hand on a ball that is sitting on the line. Lawful action.



Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 24887
Read other Q & A regarding Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 25321

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.