Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 25207

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 7/13/2011

RE: Other

stopgap of sydney, nsw australia asks...

During the semi final WWC game between france and usa us keeper had hold of the ball in one hand and the french attacker headed the ball out of the keeper's hand. the ref called a foul on the french player. was this correct?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Yes the referee was 100% correct. When the goalkeeper has the ball in an outstretched hand she is deemed to be in possession of the ball and the ball cannot be challenged for.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

In the 2004 edition of the old IFAB Question and Answers publication, this was allowed. It was changed in the 2005 edition.

The current Laws of the Game, in the Interpretations and Guidelines section, states that the goalkeeper is in possession of the ball 'while holding the ball in his outstretched open hand'.

Correct call, despite the French player's plea, 'But I used my head!'

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

It is an indirect free kick foul to interfere with the keeper in possession or in the act of releasing the ball. The referee could have also cautioned the player if she believed the action was reckless.

Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Absolutely!! That was a stupid pet trick on the part of the French player.

A player is not allowed to interfere with the goalkeeper in possession of the ball. Such interference is punished with an IDFK to the keeper's team and a possible caution should the interference be reckless or repeated.

Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Nathan Lacy

Goalkeeper possession and a good call by the ref. All the best,

Read other questions answered by Referee Nathan Lacy

View Referee Nathan Lacy profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 25207
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.