Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 25249

Law 6 - Assistant Referee 7/23/2011

RE: Adult

Dimitris Spanos of Karpathos , Dodecanesse Greece asks...

What if the goalkeeper while blocking the ball slides over the lines , the linesman holds up his flag but is not being noticed by the ref. The play continues in the over side of the field , the ball goes out over rge line the game restarts but the linesman has his flag still high . Almost 2 minutes later and with the ball going in and out off the field the ref sees the linesman and decides to bring the ball for the foul that the keeper did couple of minutes ago .can this be done ? Thank you so much for youre answer

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Dimitris
When the ball goes over the goal line or touch line that is a matter of fact and advantage cannot be played. The instruction to assistant referees is to keep the flag raised until it is dealt with by the referee with either a throw in, goal kick or corner kick. It is unlike an offside or a foul where advantage can be played.
Now common sense has to also enter the equation along with advice to assistant referees. If play has continued for a lengthy period with different restarts then the AR should drop the flag and allow the play to continue. However if he persists to hold the flag up the referee has to deal with it and the only legal start is the original reason the ball was out of play.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

I assume that because you refer to a foul, you are talking about the goalkeeper sliding outside the penalty area, but on the field, as opposed to sliding over the goal line. It doesn't matter if the keeper is outside the area, only the ball matters. You haven't said if the ball was completely outside the penalty area or not.

That said, once the referee allows a restart (in this case the throw-in) to take place, there is no going back. The referee only has until the next restart to change his mind, upon reflection or new information supplied by an assistant referee.

So I have to ask, was the referee deaf or the AR mute? An important decision like a free kick just outside the penalty area, the AR should be shouting to get the referee's attention. And perhaps the ref was blind as well, since he missed seeing the flag up for such a long time. Poor mechanics on the part of the crew apparently led to a poor decision. It was compounded by an illegal remedy to the decision - to give the free kick too late.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Poor mechanics for sure. Not sure what you mean by the keeper sliding over the lines. Unless he carried the ball over the goal line and a goal was legally scored, the AR should have simply put his flag down when it became apparent the referee was ignoring him and you state the ball had gone out of play more than once.

If a goal had been scored the AR should have done whatever needed to get the referee's attention including but not limited to running onto the field and grabbing him.


On the other hand, if a goal had been scored at the other end of the field and play had not restarted the AR should get the referee's attention and at least discuss the possibility of a handling violation just outside the penalty area, which is what I think you are describing. Most referees consider the keeper carrying the ball a slight distance over the 18 yard line a trifling offense, which I also think is what you are describing.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Whether we're talking about the keeper sliding out of the penalty area onto the field, or the keeper sliding out of the penalty area and over the goal line (or even into the goal mouth), a few things remain constant.

First, the position of the keeper himself is irrelevant; it's where the ball is. If any part of the ball is on or above any of the lines bordering the penalty area, then the ball is still in the penalty area - even if the keeper himself is mostly outside.

Second, once the referee has allowed another restart to take place, there's nothing more that can be done. A referee cannot change his decision after the restart of play - therefore, once the restart has occurred, he has locked in his decision that the foul didn't occur (or that the goal wasn't scored). While referees are permitted to later act on new information presented by their assistants or 4th official, this only pertains to various forms of misconduct and not free kicks or ball in/out of play decisions.

This means that once the ball is put back into play, drop your flag and forget the whole thing ever happened. Unfortunately, this means that the referee's decision to go to the foul after restarting play was incorrect in law. Any time until that point - even if it's 5 minutes later, but the ball hasn't gone out of play - and the referee is technically permitted to go back to the foul.

In these scenarios, the players and spectators are usually wonderfully helpful in reminding the referee to check with the assistant who is standing there with a raised flag and a hopeful, yet frustrated - and slightly concerned - look on his face.




Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 25249
Read other Q & A regarding Law 6 - Assistant Referee

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.