Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 25845

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 12/20/2011

RE: Competive Adult

Jeremy Croshaw of Balgonie, Saskatchewan Canada asks...

My question deals with the keeper handling the ball. If the keeper has the ball in his hands but steps out of bounds at the back line but the ball is still in play is that out of bounds? Same for the top of the box. If the keeper has the ball in his hands and has stepped out of the box but the ball remains within the box. Is the keeper called for a hand ball? Further more, if the keeper jumps on the while it is within the area on the ground, while the keeper is out of the area either at the back line or in the field of play, is that a hand ball?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

What matters is the position of the ball, not the position of the goalkeeper. If the ball stays on the field, it doesn't matter if the keeper's feet go out.

Neither does the keeper's position with regard to the penalty area make a difference. If the ball is inside the area - if any portion of it overlaps the slightest portion of the line - the goalkeeper can handle it.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Jeremy
The position of the goalkeeper is irrelevant in these matters. It is the position of the ball that counts. The line forms part of the penalty area so all of the ball must be over the goal line for it to be out of play or outside the penalty area. As you know the goalkeeper may not touch the ball with his hands when all of the ball is in play outside the penalty area.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

1. If any part of the ball is on or above the goal line, the ball is in play.

2. If any part of the ball is on or above the penalty area line, the keeper can handle it.




Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 25845
Read other Q & A regarding Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.