Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 25886

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 1/13/2012

RE: Level 8 Under 11

Brendan of Folsom, Ca USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 25872

Hypothetically, while the IFK direct to the goal was not touched by anyone else except with the hand by a defensive player, what would the call be if the ball still ended up going directly into the goal, how would the call have changed?
I'd say you have to count the goal as it was played or touched by the defense satisfying the rule for a goal off an IFK (would not matter if it was legal or not). I don't see how you could take the goal away. Agreed?

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Just so I'm clear, you're asking what happens if an IFK is taken and the ball is headed for goal with no attacker in a position to touch it, when a defender deliberately handles it but the ball goes into the goal anyway?

The correct decision, as you say, is to award the goal. An IFK only requires that any 2nd player touch the ball for a goal to be scored. Doesn't matter who, nor what body part is involved.

The defender deliberately handles the ball, and as established in the other question this would be a penalty kick - but we have the opportunity to apply advantage, if there is one. As the ball goes into the goal, the advantage is applied (which is why it can be good to be aware of the entire scenario and hold the whistle for a few moments).

While you would normally consider cautioning a defender in such a scenario, as the lack of a competing attacker meant there was no attack nor opportunity to score unti lhe handled the ball, there is no reason to caution him.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Brendan
Yes that is agreed.
When the ball is kicked and moved by the kicker it is in play. Even if the next touch is illegal such as deliberate handling that still satisfies the 2nd touch requirement. The referee then has two choices either to punish the handling offence with a direct free kick or penalty or to play advantage by awarding the goal.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Unless the referee blows the whistle before all of the ball crosses over all of the goal line it's a goal. Had the referee blown a quick whistle, he would have to pull the ball out of the net and award a PK.
Still no red card because a goal could not have been scored before the ball was deliberately handled



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 25886
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 27998

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.