Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 25943

Law 11 - Offside 2/1/2012

RE: comp Under 18

tien of walnut creek, ca us asks...

A1 onside, heads ball over defending keeper coming out. Not sure if keeper glazed ball. Ball hits crossbar back to A1 who is closest to goal & all players, & heads it in. A1 Offside ?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi
No, this cannot be offside. A1 has in effect played the ball to himself via the frame of the goal. Any contact by the goalkeeper is irrelevant in this particular scenario.
For offside to be a factor the ball must be played / touched by a team mate to the player in an offside position.
So for example if A1 headed the ball and the ball deflects off the GK onto the frame of the goal and it rebounds back to A2 who is in an offside position then that is offside when A2 touches the ball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

Whenever A1 was the last player on her team to touch the ball, A1 cannot be guilty of offside. A1 is entitled to play the ball. Offside position is only measured when a teammate touches the ball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

There is no second touch issue here, since the ball was already in play. If the player was onside when the original header took place, then he continues to be onside until such time as a teammate plays the ball and the player who did the header is now in an OSP.

No offside offense here.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

A1 cannot be offside in your scenario. Why? Offside is only judged when the ball is played or touched by a teammate. Since A1 initially played the ball, not a teammate, he is free to continue playing the ball until it is touched or played by a teammate.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 25943
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 25947

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.