Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 25947

Law 11 - Offside 2/3/2012

RE: hs, comp Under 18

Tien of walnut creek, ca usa asks...

This question is a follow up to question 25943

Add after ball hits off post/bar, deflects off of an offside player(doesn't play) back to onside player who shoots/heads ball into goal. Goal or not? thanks(deflections happen)...

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

If the ball touches a player in offside position, offside should be called. The player has interfered with play even if the contact was unintentional.



Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

A deflection off a defender does not reset offside considerations; perhaps that is the principle you are thinking of.

But any touch by an attacker, whether deliberate or an unintentional deflection, does count toward offside.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Tien
The offside law does not differentiate between deliberate or accidental contact of the ball. Once the ball touches a player in an offside position that is offside and it must be called.
So in your scenario the ball rebounds to a player in an offside position off the frame of the goal, offside is called for 'gaining an advantage by being in that position' when it touches that player and the goal is ruled out.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Absolutely no goal! When the ball touches the player in the offside position (deliberate or accidental is irrelevant) that player has interfered with play and offside should be called.

If the ball had deflected off a defender to the player in an offside position, that is still offside.

If the ball deflected off a defender, including the goalkeeper, back to the onside player who took the shot, the goal counts. The player was onside at the beginning of the play.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 25947
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 28496

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.