Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 26074

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 3/17/2012

RE: Rec Adult

Kathy of Creedmoor, nc usa asks...

Ball was kicked over the side line in the air (slightly) and the wind was blowing and ball landed on the white line. I called it still in play and another player stated since it went over the line in the air, it was out. Who was correct? Me or other player?

Thanks and I anxiously await our call.

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

The ball does not need to have contact with the ground to be considered out. The entire ball simply has to completely cross the outside edge of the line, whether in the air or on the ground.




Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Kathy
If all of the ball fully crossed all of the plane of the touchline in the air then it is out of play. Where the ball lands makes no difference to the decision.
In your case the ball landed on the touchline which was in play yet it is what happened to the ball while in the air that mattered.
So if all of the ball was clearly seen to fully cross the plane of the line and it is then blown back into the field of play the ball has gone out of play.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

'Over' does not necessarily mean 'completely crosses'. It could just as likely mean 'to hover'. If all of the ball crosses over all of the goal line or touch line either in the air or on the ground, the ball has gone out of play. Doesn't matter if the wind blows the ball back onto the field, the ball was out of play. Period. Landing within the boundaries of the field does not put it back into play. Only a throw-in, goal kick, corner kick, or kick-off can do that.

If the ball merely hovered over the touch line it is still in play and you would be correct. If all of the ball had crossed all of the touch line then the other player is correct.

Thank you for the question



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 26074
Read other Q & A regarding Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 28012

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.