Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 26245

Law 1- The Field 4/26/2012

RE: Rec Under 11

Aaron of Stanford, Kentucky United States asks...

This question is a follow up to question 26216

According to the US Youth Soccer Association the official modified U10 playing rules that have been in existence since 2003, states penalty spots are to be marked at 8 yards. U12 spots marked at 10 yards and 13 and up marked at 12 yards. The marks on our field were marked at 8 yards we were playing in a U10 tournament. My interpretation is that the ref should have placed the ball on the penalty spot as marked just as the other refs.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Aaron
It shows the importance of knowing competition rules. I suspect that the referee understood it was 10 yards which is why he moved the ball back from the 8 yard mark.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

The correct practice is for the referee team to inspect the field h and have the penalty marks corrected before the match. If no one can fix the marks, informing both coaches that the marks are in the wrong place and will be ignored will resolve the issue.
Unfortunately, it is common for fields to be incorrectly marked in amateur play.

But, ultimately whether the correct placement of the ball on the penalty mark is a judgment call for the referee.

Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Agreed. The other referees in the original question probably did not check the official modifications.

Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 26245
Read other Q & A regarding Law 1- The Field

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.