Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 26310

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 5/8/2012

RE: Intermediate Under 12

Phil of Tarzana, CA United States asks...

This question is a follow up to question 26302

Let's say the blue GK kicks the ball & it glances off a red player & goes over the touch line. Although the AR raises the flag & trots toward the 18, a blue player, realizing the ref didn't see it, does a quick throw in. Does that mean it's too late for the red team to get the goal? It doesn't seem fair.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Phil
That would be indeed unfair and the Laws allow for the referee to cancel that restart. What was meant in the answers is that where the referee has allowed a restart such as a kick off or that play has continued for some time with a number of restarts it is then not possible to go back to reverse the decision.
What should happen is that the AR should be shouting to the referee to attract his attention to the flag and the other AR should mirror that flag.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

It does not mean it is too late to correct! Simply stop the blue player with your voice, or raise your flag, and get the referee's attention - quickly. Then restart as it should have occurred with the throw-in to red.

Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

As the referee has not had the opportunity to prevent that player from taking the throw in, that player never really had permission to take that restart - so there's no problems with going back to the correct restart.

Incidentally, the AR should monitor the placement of the ball at the goal kick to ensure it is placed within the goal area. To do this, the AR should remain in line with the goal area until the ball has been correctly placed, then move to where he needs to be.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 26310
Read other Q & A regarding Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.