Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 26522

Law 10 - Method of Scoring 7/2/2012

RE: Adult

Himanshu Chouhan of indore, m.p. INDIA asks...

in soccer iS goal is awarded from free kick if kick haS taken before center line

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Himanshu
A goal can be scored in the opponents' goal from any kicked restart with the one exception of an indirect free kick.
So if a direct free kick is awarded, no matter where the free kick is taken from which can be the team's own half, a goal will be awarded if it enters the opponents goal.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

Direct: a goal may be scored directly from any free kick.

Indirect: an own goal may not be scored directly from a free kick, and no goal may be scored directly on an indirect free kick. The ball is in play as soon as it is kicked and moves, but a goal cannot be scored until the ball touches a second player. A dropped ball is now treated similarly - -a goal cannot be scored until the the ball touches a second player.

Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

A goal may be scored against an opponent from a direct free kick taken from anywhere on the field. Inside the opponent's penalty area, that would be a PK.

An indirect free kick can score against an opponent only after it has touched another player (either team) besides the kicker, and that kick can also be taken from anywhere on the field except within the goal area of the opponent.

Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 26522
Read other Q & A regarding Law 10 - Method of Scoring

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.