Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field
The Ball
Number of Players
Players Equipment
The Referee
Assistant Referee
Duration of Play
Start / Restart
The Ball In/Out of Play
Method of Scoring
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 26533

Law 14 - Penalty kick 7/4/2012

RE: Adult

Jonathan of Durban, South Africa asks...

If a player kicks a penalty and it rebounds of the goal posts can the the same player kick the ball into the the goal

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Jonathan
Under Law 14 the player taking the penalty cannot touch the ball again until it has been touched by another player including the goalkeeper. So on a rebound off the frame of the goal the kicker would be penalised for touching the ball. The restart is an IDFK from where the 2nd touch violation happened.
Personally I'm not a big fan of this Law 14 requirement as a player will never try to play the ball off the frame of the goal on the penalty kick and the natural instinct is to play the rebound. The law makers have always tried to simplify the Law with no exceptions and as it is a technical 2nd touch violation, the infraction with an IDFK restart is always called.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Well, he can, but no goal is scored. When the kicker kicks it a second time that is a two touch violation, and the restart is an IDFK for the defending team where the kicker touched it a second time.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 26533
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer, Former Editor AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.