- Soccer Referee Resources
- Ask a Question
- Recent Questions
RSS FEED Subscribe Now!
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
Question Number: 26591
Law 14 - Penalty kick 8/2/2012
RE: Rec Adult
Mitch of Ottawa, On Canada asks...
At the taking of a penalty kick a bird flies by gets hit by the ball, then the ball goes out because of it. The ball was going to go in net if it were not for the bird.
I say the restart is a re-take of the penalty kick.
Am I correct?
Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham
After the kick has been taken, if the ball is touched by an outside agent as it moves forward: the kick is retaken. A bird is considered an outside agent.
Note: the referee doesn't care whether a goal was scored despite, or would have been scored but for, the bird. The kick is retaken.
Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham
View Referee Dennis Wickham profile
Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh
Under Law 3 when an outside agent interferes with play the referee must stop play and restart with a dropped ball. A bird, dog etc would be considered an outside agent. The referee can allow play to continue if there is no interference
However the penalty kick as outlined in Law 14 is entirely different in that, as Referee Wickham states, the penalty is retaken when the ball hits an outside agent as it goes forward only. It would make no difference if a goal was scored or not.
Referees should ensure that these unlikely situations do not happen and it is best to ensure that the goal area is clear of any spectators, dogs etc. as the kick is being prepared to be taken. Referees should not signal for the penalty kick until he is satisfied that all the conditions of Law 14 have been met.
Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh
View Referee Joe McHugh profile
Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino
once the ball strikes the bird, we have a retake regardless where the ball goes
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile
- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 26591
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick
The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...
See Question: 26612
See Question: 26613
- Soccer Referee Extras
Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.
Enter Question Number
If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer
Offside Question?Offside Explained
by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.