Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 26614

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 8/8/2012

RE: Competive High School

Darren Pollen of Elmira, New York U.S.A. asks...

While playing goalie is the ball out if you step out of bounds with the ball after a save?

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

Darren. Unlike other sports, the only thing that matters is whether all of the ball has crossed all of the line. A keeper's body can be entirely off the field with hands next to and behind the goal line. But, if all of the ball has not fully crossed the line, the ball is still in play.

Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Darren
It is the position of the ball that counts. If all of the ball is over all of the line then the ball is out of play. It makes no difference where the player including the goalkeeper is positioned.
A goalkeeper could be stood totally over the goal line with the ball held in his outstrectched hands, directly on the line and that ball is still in play as the ball has not fully crossed the line.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

See 26610 - a recent question regarding outfield players and the touch line, but the principle remains the same.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

If the whole ball goes off the field (all the way across the goal line) with the keeper, then yes, the ball is out. Hopefully, the keeper did not step off the field into the goal after making the save, because now it's a goal!

Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 26614
Read other Q & A regarding Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.