Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 26680

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 8/25/2012

RE: High School Adult

Barrie Monks of la crosse, Wisconsin USA asks...

An attacker runs clear through on goal and is brought down in the penalty area by the goalkeeper. The ball breaks to a trailing attacker so the ref delays the whistle. The second attacker, realizing that if he takes the advantage the goalkeeper will only get a yellow card, but if he does not then the keeper will be sent off and his team gets a penalty so he does not play the ball. What do you do?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Barrie
I don't like these hypothetical questions as in real life I think a player will take the advantage opportunity and try to score.
Now for me the hypothetical answer is that if the player has a clear cut advantage then the referee would be entitled to signal advantage and try to 'encourage' play to continue. If the advantage is doubtful and the player does not avail of the chance or advantage is not realised then the only decision is a penalty kick and a dismissal.
Interestingly in a La Liga game at the weekend I saw a referee signal advantage at the half way line for a team that was leading near the end of the game. The player did not seem keen on the advantage and gestured by not playing the ball that he would prefer the foul which would probably use some time in the process. The referee continued with the advantage signal almost insisting that play continue which it did. The referee then seemed to remonstrate with the player insisting that as there existed an advantage then he was not stopping play for the foul. That is the way it looked to me. Not sure that would happen though on a penalty kick.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

What attacking player with an open goal, inside the opposing penalty area, and the ball at his feet is not going to continue on towards the goal or shoot immediately?

But, that's not what you asked. If the player with the ball does nothing, the advantage will not arise and the foul will have to be called and the keeper likely sent off for DOGSO.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Nathan Lacy

With the application of advantage the question becomes was the advantage materialized or not. WHAT the player chooses to do with that advantage is up to them. Accordingly, I would beg to differ from my esteemed colleague above. IF the ball, as you state, 'breaks to the trailing attacker' then the advantage HAS been realized. PERIOD. What he CHOOSES to do with that advantage is now up to him. If he chooses to waste it, then so be it. Opportunity lost. It is not our job as referees to 'fix' their bad decisions. To carry this a step further, however, applying advantage in the PA is an extremely gutsy move and if you're going to take that risk then the outcomes can be very extreme - either extremely good or extremely bad. Personally, I would opt for the sure thing - award the PK and the send off for DOGSO. Keep it simple and straightforward. The only thing that might keep me from calling it in that manner is if the original sequence/scenario that you gave happened so quickly that the ball would virtually be in the back of the net by the time the whistle got to my mouth. All the best,



Read other questions answered by Referee Nathan Lacy

View Referee Nathan Lacy profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 26680
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.