Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 26772

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/16/2012

RE: Competitive Under 14

Helen of Basel, BS Switzerland asks...

If a ball goes into the goal off a defender's hand, should the referee give a penalty kick or let the goal stand because of the advantage rule?

Thanks,
Helen

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Helen
The referee should play advantage if the handling is deemed to be deliberate and award the goal. There is no guarantee that a penalty will be scored



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

The goal should stand whether the handling was deliberate or not.

If deliberate, advantage is allowed, and the goal is counted.

If accidental, there is no offense, thus the goal still counts.

A penalty kick for a deliberate handling would be injurious to the attacking team for no good reason if the ball quickly goes into the goal. Unfortunately, we refs sometimes blow the whistle too quickly for an offense, and once blown it cannot be retracted. If the whistle had blown, a PK is all that is available. More experienced refs will hold the whistle just a couple of seconds to see.

I recall a men's game where a defender actually caught the ball in his hands (was kicked directly at him), whereupon he promptly dropped it - I held the whistle to see what would happen next. I never expected the result. The guy bent down, picked it back up and handed it to me! That's the only time I've ever called a PK without blowing the whistle. Bizarre.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

There is no greater advantage than a goal. Hopefully there was no whistle and a goal awarded.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 26772
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.