Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 26774

Law 15 - Throw In 9/16/2012

RE: Other

Akash of Port Louis, Mauritius asks...

After a Throw- in taken correctly enters the field of play and leaves at a touch line without touching another player. What decision should the referee or assistant referee take?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Akash
The correct decision is to award a throw in to the opponents from where the ball left the field of play.
Once the ball is throw in it is in play and as it leaves the field at the touchline a throw in is awarded to the opponents of the thrower.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Let's follow the logical trail. Ball thrown by Red enters the field and then exits the field without touching another player. So the ball has left the field over a touchline last played by a Red player (the thrower), so the restart has to be a throw in for the Blue team. Make sense?

If the Red player threw it in and it exited over the goal line without touching another player, the restart would be either a goal kick, if it was Blue's goal line or a corner kick if it was Red's goal line. Same principle - ball put into play by Red now goes out on Red. Restart is to Blue.




Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 26774
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.