Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 26777

Law 15 - Throw In 9/17/2012

RE: 8 Under 10

Dan of Belford, Nj Usa asks...

What's the call if a throw in bounces outside before entering the field of play?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

If the throw was taken correctly, it must be retaken by the same team.

If the mechanics of the throw were not legal, then the throw-in is awarded to the other team.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

The restart is another throw-in. The question is for which team? At this age group, we would/should probably just allow a re-throw by the same team, unless the throw was done incorrectly, in which case we award the throw to the other team.

In order for the ball to be legally in play, it must leave the hands of the thrower in the air and enter the field before it hits the ground (and the touchline is part of the field).



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi dan
The question the referee has to ask himself is whether the ball crossed the plane of the touchline before touching the ground. If it did then the ball is in play and the restart is a throw in to the opponents from where the ball left the field of play in the air. If it did not enter the field of play the throw in is retaken from the point of the original throw in.
If I am on my own with club assistants and the ball bounces outside the field of play my decision is to award the throw in to the opponents particularly if the thrower is standing on the line. There is every chance that the ball did break the plane of the line at the point of the throw and the thrower did get an opportunity to put the ball into play. On the next one the thrower will ensure that he does not run the same risk again with the throw being more infield.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 26777
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 26847

See Question: 26957

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.