Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 26778

Law 14 - Penalty kick 9/17/2012

RE: Competive High School

JMorin of fort fairfield, ME USA asks...

What happens if a player identified as the one taking the penalty kick, kicks prior to the referee blowing the whistle to signal to start the penalty kick and the shot is wide and no goal is scored? Thank you for your time.

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Logically, the kick may not be taken until the referee blows the whistle. Since the whistle had not sounded, the ball was not able to be put into play, so no goal could result, and the only possible restart is a retake of the penalty kick. A repetition of this move by the kicker should result in a caution for delaying the restart of the game.

Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

The penalty kick must be retaken.

Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

The penalty kick must be retaken as a penalty kick cannot be taken before the whistle. The outcome of the kick makes no difference to the decision.
Referees should look closely at their PK mechanics to ensure this does not happen. It can mean speaking to the kicker so that he clearly knows to wait for the whistle. Another way is to stand in the way of the kicker or the ball until the elements of the kick are in place such as the placement of the goalkeeper on the goal line. Then just stand aside a quick peep to allow the kick.
If the kicker willfully disobeys your instruction to wait for the whistle then a caution would be appropriate.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 26778
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.