Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 26809

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/21/2012

RE: Under 19

damian bell of westminster, ma usa asks...

Is it legal to use your knee or calf area of the leg to pass the ball back to your own keeper

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

You can play the ball to the keeper in any way you choose (excepting using your hands). The prohibition is for the goalkeeper to handle a ball that has been deliberately kicked. Kicking is done with the foot. Anything above the ankle is not a kick.

Note that in some areas of the world, below the knee is considered kicking, because it is the knee joint that creates the kicking motion.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Damian
My advice is only to punish the deliberate kick or what looks like a kick. Anything including and above the knee is not a deliberate kick and the law allow the goalkeeper to touch the ball with his hands in those instances where the ball is played in that manner.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

Yes. The US interpretation is that the ball must be kicked deliberately with the foot.



Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Indeed! As long as the part of the body used is not the hand o anything below the ankle, it is perfectly legal.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 26809
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 27294

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.