Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 26811

Law 10 - Method of Scoring 9/21/2012

RE: rec High School

alexandre moreno of lexington park, maryland st.mary's asks...

if the goalie has the ball in his hand and is about to throwe the ball in play. can he throw the ball directly to the other goal without any other player touching the ball? will that be a goal for his team? or would be an indirect free kick to the other team? thank you.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Alexandre
The decision would be a goal and it would be one mighty long throw.
At underage in a reduced size field there could be a competition rule to not allow a thrown goal. In Futsal which is generally played indoor, a goal will not be awarded when throw by the goalkeeper into the opponents' goal. Those throws though would be relatively short throws by comparison to a goalkeeper throw of at minimum 82 yards to reach the otehr goal on a full sized field of play, assuming he used all of his own penalty area.
Here is a few at 75 yards+ and I don't think you will see much longer

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-0kgtOdl4mI



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

When the ball is in play, goalkeepers may score a goal by throwing or kicking the ball from their own penalty area. This is different from a throw-in to restart play. A goal may not be scored directly on a throw-in; the ball must touch another player.



Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 26811
Read other Q & A regarding Law 10 - Method of Scoring

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.