Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 26847

Law 15 - Throw In 9/26/2012

RE: competitive Adult

Michael of point pleasant, nj usa asks...

This question is a follow up to question 26777

I find no reference in the procedures for the throw-in in the FIFA laws of the game that state that the ball must land in the field of play and am wondering where the interpretation that a ball that bounces outside the line and then crosses into the field of play would be an improper throw-in comes from?

If all the other throw-in components were proper there appears to be no stipulation that the ball must enter the field of play in the air.

I agree that it is a ridiculous situation and that common sense states the interp is correct, but the laws do not seem to support that conclusion.

Procedure

At the moment of delivering the ball, the thrower:
?faces the field of play
?has part of each foot either on the touch line or on the ground outside the touch line
?holds the ball with both hands
?delivers the ball from behind and over his head
?delivers the ball from the point where it left the field of play

All opponents must stand no less than 2 m (2 yds) from the point at which the throw-in is taken.

The ball is in play when it enters the field of play.

After delivering the ball, the thrower must not touch the ball again until it has touched another player.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Michael
I would refer you to page 130 of the current Laws of the Game and I quote
'' If the ball touches the ground before entering the field of play, the throw-in is retaken by the same team from the same position provided that it was taken in line with the correct procedure. If the throw-in is not taken in line with the correct procedure, it is retaken by the opposing team.''
So there you have it.
As a general principle unless I have neutral assistant who can inform me that all of the ball did not touch the plane of the touchline, I make the assumption from the position of the thrower standing on the line that the ball in fact entered the field of play at the point of the throw in and if it subsequently touches the ground outside the field of play I award the the throw in to the opposing team . It ceratinly focusses the thrower on the next throw in to not throw the ball 'as tight' to the touchline.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

There are several things that are not spelled out specifically in the Laws of the Game, but are so much a part of the tradition that 'everybody knows' them. For example, where does it say that if a player is sent off, he cannot be replaced and the team must play down?

Unfortunately the USSF has not published the Interpretations and Guidelines section of the Laws of the Game. This provides a lot of additional information on things that 'everyone knows', but clearly everyone does not know. Ref McHugh quoted the section on the ball hitting the ground before it enters the field of play.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

From the LOTG under Interpretations section under Throw-in:

the ball touches the ground before entering the fi eld of play, the throw-in is
retaken by the same team from the same position provided that it was taken
in line with the correct procedure. If the throw-in is not taken in line with the
correct procedure, it is retaken by the opposing team.

Go to FIFA's website and download the complete LOTG for free



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 26847
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.