Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 26891

Law 14 - Penalty kick 10/7/2012

RE: Under 18

Ajay nirpal of Aurangabad, Maharashtra India asks...

Can the player who went out of the game take the penalty

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Ajay
Not sure what you mean by this. If a player has left the field of play for treatment at a penalty kick he cannot return until after the penalty kick is taken. Once play has restarted with the taking of the kick the player may return to the field of play.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

If the player has been sent off - shown the red card, he cannot return in the game - any part of it.

If the player was substituted, he is no longer a player and may not return, unless the league has unlimited substitution rules. If there are unlimited substitution rules, the penalty kick is a stoppage and substitutions are allowed at stoppages, although sometimes the limited substitution rules might not allow a substitution in this context.

If the player left the field with permission to have an injury or uniform malfunction attended to, he cannot return until play has restarted, so in that case he could not take the penalty kick.

If the player left the field with permission before the penalty kick was awarded, he could be allowed back on during the stoppage, and in that case he could take the penalty kick.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 26891
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.