Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 27030

Law 11 - Offside 11/22/2012

RE: Under 15

Joe of Toronto, Ontario Canada asks...

This question is a follow up to question 7410

I have two questions.

1. If you are offside and a player sends a pass but when you receive it, you are onside. Would a ref call it?

2. If you are offside and the ball is kicked by the opposing team's defender and lands at your feet. Why is offside not called. This happened in the euro cup during the Croatia-Ireland game.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Joe
1. Yes you will be called offside and the IDFK will be taken from where you were positioned when the ball was played not from where you touched the ball.
2. Offside can only be called when the ball is played by a team mate not by an opponent. In the example you cite the ball was played by an opponent which is not offside. The only exception is where the ball deflects / rebounds off an opponent after being played by a team mate. The rebound touch in that situation by the opponent is not a deliberate play and it does not reset the offside. Always look on offside as a team offence. Only the team in possession of the ball can be called offside.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

1. Offside. You cannot reset your own offside considerations; an opponent or teammate must do that for you. You remain liable for offside until
- an opponent controls the ball
- a teammate plays/touches the ball when you are no longer in an offside position
- the ball goes out of play

2. It's not offside because offside is only considered when the ball is played/touched by a teammate. If an opponent kicks the ball to you, that's a gift. It would be offside only if it was a deflection or miskick.

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 27030
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.