Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 27079

Law 15 - Throw In 12/22/2012

RE: Adult

Kevin Green of Skipton, N/Yorkshire England asks...

This question is a follow up to question 23313

Why if all the ball has to be over the line to be out of play. And a throw in is a way of getting the ball back into play, is a player alowed to stand on the line with the ball in his hands to take the throw in.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Kevin
As long as the player has any part of his foot/feet on the line that is legal. A player could have both his heels on the line with the rest of his feet on the field and that is legal. Many believe that the feet must not be over the line which is incorrect.
The ball is in play when it is released from the players hands and it crosses the plane of the touchline.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

It likely comes from two separate evolutionary threads in the Laws of the Game. They are unrelated, so they don't have to be consistent with each other. Many of the rules were developed over several decades in the 1800's. When the Laws were formalized, they took parts from several different sets of school rules.

Even if the throw-in was changed to requiring the feet to be behind the line, rather than on or behind, the ball would probably still be released when it had already entered the field of play.

The simple answer is that it doesn't matter; it's just the way it is.

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 27079
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.