Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 27186

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 2/18/2013

RE: Competive Adult

John of Newbridge , Kildare Ireland asks...

Hello
I Play in goals and have done for some time
In a recent game I received a back pass from a defender
I tried clearing the ball but miskicked it
The ball went straight up into the air
I dived and caught it on the way down
There was no way that I could have done this on purpose but the ref still awarded a free kick
Is this right
Thanks
John

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

Referees have debated whether this should be called or ignored as doubtful. The majority view (and the official position for matches played in the United States) is that because the keeper may not touch a ball deliberately kicked by the defender, the keeper may not touch the ball even if the keeper misplays the pass.



Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

The law states that it's an offence for the goalkeeper to handle the ball if it has been deliberately kicked to him by a teammate. It doesn't make an exception if the keeper handles it after miskicking it or otherwise losing control - what's important is that he's handled it after it was deliberately kicked to him by a teammate.

As Ref Wickham states, this sort of incident has been a source of debate amongst referees (several months ago the same thing occurred in, I believe, an English Premier League match and the referee allowed play to continue. I believe he was incorrect in doing so, but there was a lot of debate about this on other refereeing forums).

Some things in the laws are open to interpretation, but I'd anticipate most referees would have penalised you.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Consider why this call against you was correct. If goalkeepers were allowed to capitalize on their mistakes, all a keeper would have to do is make a half-hearted kick at the ball and claim it was a mis-kick. Then argue because of the mistake, he's allowed to pick up the ball. I don't think so.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi John
The Laws state that a goalkeeper may not touch a ball with his hands that has been deliberately kicked to him by a team mate. So until the ball is touched by an opponent or the ball is played to the goalkeeper by any other method other than a kick the restriction continues to apply even on a mis kick, mis play of the ball by the goalkeeper. So the referee was technically correct in the award of the IDFK. I might add that the Law does not work in degrees of mistake. A bad first touch with the foot by the GK does not mean that the GK can then recover by touching the ball with his hands.
I might add that sometimes I have seen kicks to the goalkeeper or to a place that the goalkeeper can touch the ball with his hands that were deliberate that goalkeepers picked up and perhaps being doubtful were not penalised. Sometimes the appeal by the opponents has an influence on the decision as the referee might consider it to be an offence and the appeal confirms his decision. Other times with no appeal or where the ball might be 'touched' in the challenge, the referee might see it as 'trifling' or doubtful and allow play to continue.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Nathan Lacy

The ball was deliberately played (kicked) to you by a teammate. It's not our job as referees to bail you out of your mistake. Play the ball with your hands - IFK. All the best,



Read other questions answered by Referee Nathan Lacy

View Referee Nathan Lacy profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 27186
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.