Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 27194

Law 7 - Match Duration 2/22/2013

RE: REC Adult

Mike of Riverview, FL USA asks...

Hello, Mr. Referee. Somebody explained to me today that the whistle to end the half can not stop a scoring chance. His rationale was some babble about match fixing. Can you confirm whether or not this is true?

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

No goal can be scored after the referee's whistle to stop play, including a whistle to indicate that time has expired.

But, the laws of the game authorize and direct the referee to add for time lost during the half for such things as injuries, cautions, retrieving balls etc. A wise referee will not decide that time has expired while there is an imminent chance that a goal will be scored. While it is lawful to stop play while the ball is headed toward the goal, it is not wise.





Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Mike,

The laws do not require the referee to extend time to allow an attack to resolve. In fact, blowing the whistle while the ball is in midair, on the way to goal, is perfectly legal.

However, many referees do strongly advise to wait until an attack is resolved before blowing the whistle for half/full time. This can be justified by the fact that stoppage time is never a precise calculation, but more of an approximation.

That does leave the question of what to do in games that sometimes have strict instructions to not apply stoppage time (such as tournaments etc), but that's a whole other kettle of fish.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Mike
Not true. Once the referee sounds his whistle no further play is allowed including the ball that that is in the air that has not crossed the goal line or the scoring chance.
Many referees do not stop play in such situations as they do not use a precise timing method. Some though do and when the watch reaches zero the game is ended with the whistle sounding no matter where the ball is.
In the recent Champions League game between Manchester United and Real Madrid the referee ended the game on 3.00 of added time as United were about to take a corner. The referee was perfectly entitled to do so yet United players were none too happy about the decision. In the UK Premier league I suspect that the referee may have allowed the corner to be taken and he would have been entitled to do so.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Nathan Lacy

Early in my days of reffing pro matches a team was taking their jolly good time taking a corner kick after regulation had expired for the first half and we were in to added time. Clearly they felt they were entitled to take the kick. Knowing better and none to happy with the team's conduct I decided to blow the whistle after the ball had been kicked and was in the air which then continued to the foot of a fellow attacker and ended up in the back of the net. Goal disallowed. Suffice it to say that I never did that again (there was a rather 'animated' response from the players) and from that point forward I either allowed the kick to resolve or never allowed it to take place to begin with. As a friend of mine said to me in the locker room during half time - more guts than brains on that one. And he was right. All the best,



Read other questions answered by Referee Nathan Lacy

View Referee Nathan Lacy profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Once the whistle blows, the referee has announced that play has already stopped. Anything that happens after this does not count so no, a goal cannot be scored after play has ended.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 27194
Read other Q & A regarding Law 7 - Match Duration

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.