Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 27253

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/16/2013

RE: All Other

Ryan of Dallas, TX USA asks...

I have seen a couple youtube videos where a player tackles a pitch invader and recieves a red card. What is y'alls opinions on this? Red card warranted or no?

Here is one example:

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Ryan
What does the Laws of the Game state? '' A Player (He) is also guilty of violent conduct if he uses excessive force or brutality against a team-mate, spectator, match official or any other person.''
If the player did this to an opponent would the referee send the player off?
Yes of course and the referee in this clip was 100% correct to dismiss the player.
We all know that the 'outside agent' should not be there but it is up to the home club officials or the club stewards to deal with this.
In this situation there were three stewards dealing with the pitch invader and they have the training and authority to deal with this. Players should not take actions into there own hands on these matters but rather leave it to those with the responsibility for same.
The sending off might seem 'harsh' but that is what is expected in the Laws of the Game. I might add that if the player injured the 'outside agent' he could face civil proceedings for his action and/or the police could also get involved.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Nathan Lacy

As well stated above, ABSOLUTELY!! All the best,

Read other questions answered by Referee Nathan Lacy

View Referee Nathan Lacy profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 27253
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.