Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 27269

Law 17 - Corner Kick 3/25/2013

RE: Competive Under 15

Rob of Jacksonville, Fl Duball asks...

I had a situation recently involving the so-called 'trick corner kick.' I was the AR when a corner kick occured. The attcker placed the ball outside the corner arc which I found unusual. I probably should have said something then but did not. He backs up to take the kick, then walks away to let another player take the kick. The second player walks up, kickes the ball, and I raise my flag (ball was never kicked and moved from the correct spot). Referee awarded indirect kick to opposing team. I believe the correct restart is a retake of the kick. Your opinions?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Rob
I'm not sure this is a trick corner kick or at least I don't see the deception or benefit here other than the gaining of a few inches in the placement of the ball. You do not mention if there were any verbals used or a double touch infringement by the 2nd kicker? We know that there is nothing wrong with a change of kicker provided it is not done to delay the restart.
As regards the second kicker taking the kick perhaps he thought that the ball was positioned correctly for the kick to be taken and as it was not questioned then he went ahead and kicked the ball?
I would say that there are a number of points here
1. The AR should ensure that the ball is positioned inside the arc properly and the kick should not be allowed to proceed until that happens. In this case that should have been done for the 1st kicker as he backed up to take the kick.
2. As the kick was not taken in accordance with Law 17 the kick should have been retaken
3. I suspect that as there was a flag the CR could have assumed that there must have been some infringement of Law 17 such as a double touch which is why he went with the IDFK.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

May have been poor communication between you and the Referee. If you believed the correct restart was a retake of the corner, You should have gotten his attention and told him what you saw.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 27269
Read other Q & A regarding Law 17 - Corner Kick

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.