Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 27442

Law 10 - Method of Scoring 5/18/2013

RE: rec league Under 13

jon hamm of hilton head, sc usa asks...

the goalie on one team kicks the ball the entire length of the field, the ball bounces and is touched by the other goalie who is now standing inside the goal, the ball then goes thru the goalies hands and scores. should this goal count? is it a legal goal?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Of course it's a goal. Even if the goalkeeper's kick was an indirect free kick, the other goalkeeper touching it made it a legal goal. Presuming of course that the touch came before the ball completely crossed the goal line.

Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Joe
A goal can be scored by a punt by the goalkeeper and there are a number of examples going back many years.
A goal can also be scored from a goal kick but that is less likely.
As a matter of interest if the goalkeeper could throw the ball that distance a goal would also count.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

unless your local league has some silly and illegal modification that doesn't allow the keeper to punt,kick, or throw the ball past the halfway line, this is a goal

Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 27442
Read other Q & A regarding Law 10 - Method of Scoring

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.