Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 27521

Law 17 - Corner Kick 6/13/2013

RE: Under 12

Michael Sullivan of Naperville, Illinois USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 27496

I ref for the same teams often. A U-10 coach has a set play where his team sets up for a corner kick, to be taken by player A. Player B approaches, calls out that he will take the kick. Player A taps the ball towards him, but instead of setting up for the kick, Player B takes ball and run towards net. Coach claims he saw the play in a premier league game. I feel it is trickery and unsportsman like but I cant get any more senior refs to agree with me, so each week I let this happen. Should this be unsportsmanlike condust, a yellow card and indirect free kick?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Michael
This ruse has been around for a long time and the ruse was used by Manchester United versus Chelsea in a PL game in 2010. The assistant referee was none other than Darren Cann of WC final fame. He flagged that the kick was not taken correctly and the referee Howard Webb asked for a retake. I also recall Liverpool doing it in the Champions League many years ago and the referee did not allow it either. He just asked for a retake. Some referees said that they will allow it if all the conditions of the corner kick are met correctly.
Now for me the referee has to decide if he saw the corner kick taken correctly with the ball properly placed plus kicked and moved. If he has not seen the proper placement and the kick then a retake is appropriate.
Second point for me is whether Player B verbally distracted an opponent at a restart in that he shouts out which distracts the defender away from the moment of the kick or deceives the opponent that the kick is not in play. If it is done before the kick is taken and the ball leaves the quadrant then for me it is a retake. If it is done after the kick is taken then it can be a caution and an indirect free kick for verbally distracts an opponent during play or at a restart.
I know many referees who will only intervene when the coach shouts as part of the 'ruse'. Obviously this was not one of them on the video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mNj2Tsu8i-o
For me I don't allow it and it is a retake every single time. When its a retake there is rarely any gripe from either side.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

The advice is the US is that oral statements by a player at the taking of a free kick is proper (as 'guile') and the referee should not interfere. Oral statements by a 'coach' OTOH are unacceptable and play should be held up, the coach dealt with (strong warning or dismissal), and the restart then taken again. The reasoning is that the coach is not giving instruction to the coach's own players and the laws do not authorize a coach to talk to (or deceive) opposing players.

In most cases, including the MU situation, the referee or assistant referee doesn't 'see' the first touch and called a second touch infringement. Moreover, my experience is that the U10 team tries this play once per game, and it doesn't work. The first player does not kick the ball, and the ball is not properly put into play. Or, the second player is unable to do anything with the ball.

While, IMO, the u10 trick rarely works for the attacking team, it does teach the defenders a critical lesson - - always keep their focus on the ball - even at a free kick. Long term, the referee probably does more for the Game by allowing it than interfering with it.



Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

USSF has decided that 'verbal deception' while not allowed during play, is ok at restarts if done by players. Coaches however, are not allowed to do this and the corner would be retaken and the coach dismissed for his behavior.
So, were I you and did not approve of this trick play, I simply would not see the first kick as putting the ball into play and stop play for a second touch.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 27521
Read other Q & A regarding Law 17 - Corner Kick

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 27641

See Question: 28650

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.