Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 27528

Law 15 - Throw In 6/17/2013

Dave Rose of Cedar City, Utah USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 27062

re #27062

If a throw-in from Blue team is directly picked up by the Blue GK, it is an IDK for Red (and in your scenario if this happens near or at the goal line in front of the goal it would be moved out to the six). It would not matter if the GK continued to handle the ball past the goal line because Law 12 has already been violated. If the GK was determined to have handled the ball in the goal after it completely crossed the goal line, then the restart would be a goal kick, since the handling would be irrelevant. I'm not sure why the rest of your question is pertinent considering this breach of The Law.

UNLESS, you meant to say that RED throws the ball in to be directly picked up by BLUE GK (ball is live to counter attack) and if in THIS scenario GK steps back enough to allow the held ball to cross the line, or mishandles it to allow it to go in goal, then yes, it would be a goal.

Either way, the AR needs to follow the ball closely enough to see this clearly.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Dave
The question was one on positioning on an attacking TI at least that is how I read it. The questioner was asking whether the AR should be positioned on the goal line or with the 2nd last defender. The answers were given on that basis.
Also either on an attacking or defending TI if the GK carries the ball over the goal line a goal is awarded. On the defending one the referee plays advantage while on the attacking one there is no Law 12 offence and the GK has simply carried the ball over the line.
BTW it is not always possible to follow the ball to see all hairline goal decisions and that has been demonstrated at the highest level. Offside is the more likely call to be made and that is the priority positioning. In fact at the highest level the advice is to be always in line with the 2nd last opponent at the moment the ball is played / touched.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

On a same team throw in unless you blow the whistle when the keeper touches the ball with his hands, you should give advantage if the keeper carries the ball over the goal line within a second or two.

As to AR positioning, it's always with the next to last opponent or the ball, whichever is closer to the opposing goal line

Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 27528
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.