Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 27563

Law 1- The Field 6/26/2013

RE: Competitive Under 19

Kyle K of Ottawa, ON Canada asks...

Hey guys,

I just need a clarification on a call (or no call) that I made the other night. I was an AR for a U18 competitive game. The attacking striker was on a clear breakaway and the goalie came out to challenge, the striker took a shot from about 10 yards outside the 18 yard box. The goalie made a diving save, however he sprawled out directly on the 18-yard line. At the point of contact between the ball and goalie, the ball had just a touch on the outside part of the 18-yard box line. The shot ended up deflecting out of bounds for a throw-in. Coaches and players were losing their minds because they were claiming for a hand ball. My explanation was that the 18-yard box line was A PART of the box itself, therefore if the goalie touches the ball when it has any part of it on the line it is considered a legal play.

I couldn't find any rules to back up my reasoning. However, I remember reading about it before. Did I make the right no call? Thanks guys.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Kyle
You will find the answer in Law 1
'' The field of play must be rectangular and marked with lines. These lines belong to the areas of which they are boundaries.''
So once you judged that the ball was on the penalty area line it was inside the penalty area and therefore the goalkeeper was entitled to touch the ball with his hands.
So you made the correct call. Just as an aside had the ball been just inside the penalty area the attacking team would probably still be claiming a penalty kick.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

If any part of the ball is on or above the penalty area line, then it is deemed to be in the penalty area.

Of course people will blow up over this sort of decision - but you're in a better position than anybody to spot where it is.

You made the right decision for the right reasons.




Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Your no call was correct and you can find what you look for in Law 1. Good job



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 27563
Read other Q & A regarding Law 1- The Field

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.