Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 27615

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 7/22/2013

RE: U11 C3 Traveling soccer team Under 12

Rosana Connell of Minneapolis, MN United States asks...

We are at a State tournament game. We are in the box, a player from opposite team drops to the ground. It is not clear what happened. Referee doesn't whistle. After a few seconds he sees girl on the ground. He calls her coach. They attend to her. Referee talks to sideline referee. Comes back and talks to coach of opposite team who is holding girl in his arms. They talked for about 20 seconds. Referee decides to give a Penalty Kick to the other team. They score and we lose the game.
Do you think he followed the rules? (we are at State) We believed he was talked into PK by other coach, because he felt bad about girl in his arms. What do you think? Can you explain what he did? Can we request a re-match? Thanks!

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Rosana,

In the situation where a player drops to the ground in the penalty area and the referee isn't sure what happened, there's no problem with the referee consulting with the assistant referee either when the ball goes out of play, or if he stops play to attend to the injury. Depending on the advice of the assistant referee, he can then award a penalty kick based on an incident that occurred while the ball was in play.

It's possible that the AR may not have flagged for a penalty kick (or possible he did make some small signal which was missed by the referee) if he thought that the referee did have a view of the incident. If the referee has seen it, the AR generally shouldn't be flagging - particularly in the penalty area!

I would hope that nothing the coach could say would influence this decision - only the AR should be able to have an input here.

It's possible that the referee made his decision on the penalty kick, but then wanted to consult with the coach (perhaps to give instructions on when the injured player can return to the field) before progressing with that kick.




Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Rosana
The most important part of this is the reason the player was left lying on the ground and the discussion that the referee had with the assistant referee. If the AR said that he saw a foul incident on the injured player inside the penalty area then the restart is a penalty kick. That is allowed for in the Laws of the Game and the decision just has to be made before the next restart of play so there can be a delay in the award of the penalty / free kick.
It is highly unlikely that a referee at a State competition was 'talked into' such an important decision by a coach nor would a referee 'feel bad' about an injury so as to award a penalty. If it was unseen by the match officials the CR would simply say "Sorry we did not see what happened there" and only give what is seen. If neither the CR nor the AR saw anything then the restart is a dropped ball from where the ball was when play was stopped.
Now I suspect that from your limited description that the AR could have made the call based on what he saw or perhaps confirmed for the CR his 'view' of what happened. The AR could have also raised his flag for a foul and it was missed for a few moments by the CR. If the incident merited disciplinary action the offender may not have been identifiable with so many player in the penalty area so no card was issued.
So the sequencing here tells a story in my opinion. Play is stopped, the coach is called on, the CR speaks with the AR and then goes into the penalty area to sort out the injury situation. The decision IMO has already been made based on the conversation between the two match officials as the CR is not going to do something that is a 'guess' and where there has been a conversation discussing the incident.
The CR is expected to deal with the injury and he could also have informed the coach that the player had to leave the FOP and that the restart is a penalty kick.
I also suspect that the CR was certainly asked about this decision by your team officials after the end of the game and he may have given his explanation which is the end of the matter. It is not a decision that can be appealed as there is no misapplication of the Law.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Having worked State level games I can attest that even at the youngest levels of play,such as your team, referee assignors are very particular as to whom they assign Center assignments to. I doubt your referee was influenced by the opposing coach or the injury as to his awarding a penalty kick.
As Ref McHugh points out, the sequence of events indicates the decision was made after conferring with the Assistant Referee. The Laws Of the Game provide for the AR to give input and the Referee may act upon that input even if he had not seen anything himself. If the Referee and the AR have worked together before it makes this all the easier and many assignors like to assign teams at this level when at all possible. The last State Tournament I worked, 4 of us that were all very experienced and had worked together for years were assigned a field for each day and we decided among us who would center and who would assist each game.

Even if the center had never met the AR before, he would have to assume the AR was competent or he/she would not be working a State level game of any age group. Most tournaments do not allow protests for any reason. Even if allowed, this referee did not misapply the Laws so there would be no basis for an appeal.

Congratulations to your team for even making it to the State Tournament. That in itself is quite an accomplishment



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

The key to the answer to your question is that the referee consulted with the assistant referee. The referee is permitted to call a foul and award a penalty kick for an offense seen by the assistant referee (but not seen by the referee). Based on your information, the logical inference is that the AR saw that a foul was why the opponent fell to the ground.



Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Nathan Lacy

My only concern would be with the mechanics the officials used. Obviously this event did not proceed smoothly or convincingly. Regardless, I agree that it should/would be only the AR's input of importance and that the referee's decision was most likely based on that input and not any subsequent discussion with the opposing coach. If anything, my opinion is that the referee was probably checking on the well being of the other player prior to awarding the PK. This, in and of itself, is commendable BUT it is also important that the referee be clear as to the decision and why - and that seems to be lacking.



Read other questions answered by Referee Nathan Lacy

View Referee Nathan Lacy profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 27615
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.